Working Out With Your Kids

Do you workout with your kids?  If not, why?  Exercise is just as important for them as it is for you.  With so many kids sitting in front of a television and playing video games getting them up and moving can be difficult.  Although, if you are working out to a home fitness program with great music, chances are they are going to want to workout with you.

My daughters started working out with me when they were about 2 years old.  They couldn’t make it through a whole workout program of Turbo Jam, but they tried and they would rest when the needed to and would start again later in the workout.  It’s amazed me how much energy they have and what they can do now at the ages of 4 and 5 years old.  My 5 year old was able to work out right along side of my while I was doing any of the 40 minute or less length Insanity DVD’s!  How amazing is that!  I’ve heard so many people say Insanity it too hard and they don’t think they can do it.  And they are right, if you put it in your mind that you can’t do it, then you won’t be able to.  But when I tell them they don’t have to make it through the whole DVD the 1st time and it might take until the last weeks of the program before they are able to.  I then ask, do you think a 5 year old could do a program like Insanity, and every response is an immediate ‘No.’.  Then I proceed to tell them my 4 and 5 year old work right along side of me and after a few weeks they were able to make it through the whole length of the DVD they have more hope.

I even offer to have my kids workout with them because if my kids take a break on the longer DVD’s as I’m still working out, they are always cheering me on.  I might have a hard time not laughing and losing my breathe, but I love that they are encouraging me and keep feeding me positive thoughts.  So, working out with your kids isn’t just a benefit for your kids, they may also be your biggest motivators.  I will never forget my daughter expression on some of the workouts when she said ‘Wow mom you are really jumping high, great job.  Keep it up, you can do it.’ Working out with your kids can be as easy and turning on the television and pressing play on the DVD player.  I even find my kids starting up the videos and wanting to exercise on their own.

Here’s a link to a video from Charlene Johnson that I think makes a great point and I completely agree with. Click Here

Leave a Reply

